Multi-specialty · Advanced Subspecialty Fellowship
Cardiovascular Surgery Senior Fellow Program (専門修練医プログラム)
National Cerebral and Cardiovascular Center (NCVC) — Department of Cardiovascular Surgery · Suita, Osaka, Japan · Suita · Japan
Programme overview
NCVC's senior fellow (専門修練医) programme is for surgeons who hold (or will hold) Japanese surgical board certification or have completed 2–3+ years of cardiovascular surgery training, aiming to build independent cardiovascular surgeons with subspecialty skills and academic output. Surgeons already (or soon to be) certified cardiovascular surgery specialists can design a programme of at least six months in subspecialties such as endovascular therapy, complex paediatric heart disease, transplantation/mechanical circulatory support or MICS. The department (adult, paediatric and vascular teams) performs over 1,300 cases per year including heart transplantation.
Associated faculty
Programme relationships are sourced from official material; portraits come from institutional profiles where available. This directory does not infer operative volume or outcomes.
Programme details
- Focus
- Adult cardiac, paediatric cardiac and vascular surgery; subspecialty tracks in endovascular therapy, complex paediatric CHD, transplant/MCS, MICS
- Duration
- Flexible; minimum 6 months for subspecialty-focused programme
- Eligibility
- Holders (or expected holders) of Japanese surgical specialist certification, or those who have completed 2–3+ years of cardiovascular surgery training
- Required prior training
- Surgical board certification or 2–3 years of cardiovascular surgery training; subspecialty track for certified (or soon-certified) cardiovascular surgery specialists
- Language
- Japanese (programme pages in Japanese only)
- Official contact
- education@ncvc.go.jp; tel. 06-6170-1069
- Data quality
- Official institutional source verified 9 Oct 2026
- Source type
- Official institutional or society page
- Registration
- Programme is built on the Japanese specialist-certification system; foreign doctors would need a Japanese licence or Advanced Clinical Training permit (not stated on the page)
- Funding
- Not publicly listed — confirm with the programme
- Participation
- Clinical fellowship; privileges depend on credentialing
- International applicants
- Not publicly listed — confirm with the programme
- Visa information
- Not publicly listed — confirm directly with the host.
International applicant check
- Language
- Japanese
- Clinical participation
- Clinical fellowship; privileges depend on credentialing
- Registration
- Programme is built on the Japanese specialist-certification system; foreign doctors would need a Japanese licence or Advanced Clinical Training permit (not stated on the page)
- Visa
- Not publicly listed — confirm directly with the host.
This is a source summary, not an eligibility decision. Confirm licensing, immigration, funding and clinical privileges with the responsible institution.
How to apply
Contact the department heads directly for consultation, interview or a visit (accepted at any time): Vascular Surgery Dr Hitoshi Matsuda (hitmat_0706@ncvc.go.jp), Adult Cardiac Surgery Dr Satsuki Fukushima (s.fukushima@ncvc.go.jp), Pediatric Cardiac Surgery Dr Shigemitsu Iwai (iwais@ncvc.go.jp), tel. 06-6170-1069; general education office education@ncvc.go.jp. Formal hiring is announced on the NCVC recruitment site.
Open official programme page ↗Verification notes
Programme description page last updated 1 Mar 2023; contact page (Feb 2024) states consultations, interviews and visits are accepted at any time. No current recruitment notice for fellows on the NCVC recruitment site on 9 Oct 2026. Pages are in Japanese and the programme is designed around the Japanese board-certification system; a Japanese medical licence is implied but not explicitly stated.
