Research & Academic · Research Fellowship
TEST Clinical Trial Fellowship (in cooperation with AstraZeneca)
European Society of Thoracic Surgeons (ESTS) – TEST clinical trials network · Europe (AstraZeneca R&D internship + TEST network trial centre; specific sites not stated) · Europe
Programme overview
ESTS's first TEST Clinical Trial Fellowship trains thoracic surgeons in clinical trial design, conduct and leadership for resectable NSCLC through a theoretical statistics curriculum, a 3-month internship at AstraZeneca's R&D department and a 3-month preceptorship at a TEST network trial centre. Total budget €42,000 (€7,000/month) covering travel, accommodation and salary.
Programme faculty
Official society award page requires or arranges a host placement but does not identify a fixed named host faculty; mentors depend on selected host.
Faculty-source review: 16 Oct 2026
Check the official programme source ↗Programme details
- Focus
- NSCLC clinical trial methodology
- Duration
- 6 months
- Eligibility
- Late-stage resident, early attending or junior faculty; basic GCP/ICH-GCP (ideally advanced); ESTS member
- Required prior training
- Thoracic surgery training (late stage) or early career
- Funding
- €42,000 total (€7,000/month) for travel, accommodation and salary
- Positions
- Not publicly listed
- Application documents
- Letter of intent, letter of motivation, CV, support letter from department chief
- Official contact
- Zlatka Mitreva, zmitreva@kenes.com
- Data quality
- Official institutional source verified 9 Oct 2026
- Source type
- Official institutional or society page
- Language
- Not publicly listed (programme run in English by ESTS)
- Participation
- Clinical fellowship; privileges depend on licensing, credentialing and institutional approval
- International applicants
- Not publicly listed — confirm with the programme
- Registration
- Host institutional requirements apply
- Visa information
- Not publicly listed — confirm directly with the host.
International applicant check
- Language
- Not publicly listed (programme run in English by ESTS)
- Registration
- Host institutional requirements apply
- Visa
- Not publicly listed — confirm directly with the host.
- Clinical participation
- Clinical fellowship; privileges depend on licensing, credentialing and institutional approval
This is a source summary, not an eligibility decision. Confirm licensing, immigration, funding and clinical privileges with the responsible institution.
How to apply
Submit a letter of intent by 23 Oct 2026, then a letter of motivation, CV and support letter from department chief by 27 Nov 2026 to Zlatka Mitreva (zmitreva@kenes.com).
Open official programme page ↗Verification notes
Announced on ESTS news page (item 325) as 'applications now open'. Host locations are not specified, so it is pan-European rather than tied to one country in this region; included because no country-specific record exists – drop if out of scope.